The real consequences of being a dieted down lean person


What is a dieted down lean person?

A dieted down lean person is someone who had gotten lean through manipulating his/ her diet and physical activities/ exercise to get there as opposed to a naturally lean person who can easily stay lean without doing much effort. Lyle McDonald of Bodyrecomposition.com wrote an excellent detailed article regarding this topic. I, myself belong to the dieted down lean person category because I’ve always been chubby and skinny fat all my life until I decided to do something about it back in 2006. In fact, I even wrote a blog regarding my own diet story. There were times that I purposely fattened myself up a little bit upon dieting down sine I wasn’t satisfied with the amount of lean body mass that I had after dieting down. It is a necessary evil thing to do in order to gain additional muscle mass — to be on hyper caloric diet (calorie surplus) to add some weight. There are various tactics that can be done to minimize the fat gain but for dieted down people most especially like myself, gaining some body fat in the process is an inevitable must.

20130504-012014.jpg

Skinny fat me back in 2003

20130504-012117.jpg

My international driver’s license photo back in 2004

20130504-012224.jpg

This pic was taken during my wife’s first pregnancy

20130504-012353.jpg

My rippest state after dieting down

20130504-012439.jpg

Photo of me during Culking (Cutting while bulking)

Now that you’ve seen the many faces of myself, I just posted those pictures to prove that I am not really a naturally lean person. I simply refused to let myself look like that again that’s why I am doing my very best to stay lean. If I ever let myself go again, I will surely gain all that weight again; maybe not that much but close with subconscious manipulation of the things that are within my control. I am dedicating this blog post for my current and future fat loss clients who are using/ will be using my fat loss consultation service for them to be mentally and physically prepared somewhat once they reach their personal desired leanness.

It is not easy but certainly possible!

My mission is to show the general population that the next level leanness is possible through the Context Dieting Solution. It will take some work, time and a whole lot of patience but it can certainly happen. Unfortunately, this comes with a price which I will enumerate below based on my own personal experience as an average person maintaining this kind of leanness all year round.

1.) Expect to be hungry.

If you’re previously overweight, chances are that your biological set point is high. People who have higher set point levels opt to have higher hunger levels than their naturally lean counterpart which makes it harder for them to stay lean. I wrote a blog regarding some tips/ tactics on how to combat hunger while staying lean.

2.) You may feel weaker in the gym.

Fat loss and performance doesn’t necessarily go along well together so, expect to have a compromise in the middle. This is the reason why context specificity or having one fitness goal at a time is very important. If your goal is fat loss, concentrate on fat loss.

3.) You may feel moody & grumpy.

I suspect that this irritability is a result of your body wanting you to eat some food. Hunger levels are associated with mood swings.

4.) You may feel lazy.

Since the human body is an efficient survival machine, this is the body’s way to conserve energy. Our body is favorable towards fat gain but will fight with it’s full arsenal for us not to starve to death. Our body doesn’t know the difference whether we’re just dieting down to look better naked or if we are starving to death.

5.) Fight food temptations.

Although there is no such food nor nutrient in isolation that can make people fat, once a dieted down person reached his peak in terms of leanness, his/ her calorie requirements will also be low as well. A lower calorie budget could mean a more restrictive diet. There are some strategies that can be done by altering the diet setup to still be able to enjoy some high calorie foods without gaining fat.

6.) You won’t burn as many calories doing the same amount of activities.

A lighter body burns fewer calories both at rest and while doing a specific activity compared to when he was still heavier.

7.) You may have a hard time getting a quality sleep.

When your calorie requirements are low to begin with and if you are hungry, it’s hard to get a quality sleep. From evolutionary perspective, it is probably more important to hunt/ gather some food than to sleep so that we would not starve to death or freeze to cold. Eating food also creates some thermic effect which keeps the body warmer. There are some strategies which I use personally such as nutrient timing or through melatonin supplementation.

8.) You may feel cold all the time.

Personally, I couldn’t even plunge myself in the pool even if the weather is hot here in Southern California. It feels like the water temperature penetrates through my bones that’s why I rarely use our apartment pool. Even at work, I often feel cold easily especially in my extremities (arms, legs) when I’m at work. I just had my thyroid levels checked and it was fine so it’s probably the result of either low body fat levels, calorie restriction or both. The body will do it’s best to conserve energy and heat production in the body can be metabolically expensive.

These are just some of the consequences a dieted down lean person may need to face as a compromise of staying lean. This is probably something that naturally lean people will never understand why it is much harder for other people to maintain leanness. A naturally lean person may still be able to maintain his/ her metabolic rate even if he is on his/ her leanest state.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

